Skip to main content

Each year APCO (Association of Public Safety Communications Professionals) recognizes outstanding contributions within the PSAP community. This year they received more than 275 nominations in nine categories. We extend a special congratulations to our friends at Kitsap 9-1-1 and Pennington County 9-1-1. Their leadership and the dedication of their teams contributed to outstanding center performance. The winners will be officially recognized during the Opening General Session at APCO 2017, August 13-16 in Denver, CO.

dispatcher quilt


richard (1)

Director of the Year
Richard Kirton
Kitsap 9-1-1
Bremerton, WA

shawn handel

Line Supervisor of the Year
Shawn Handel
Kitsap 9-1-1
Bremerton, WA


Information Technologist of the Year
Ted Rufledt Jr.
Pennington County 9-1-1
Rapid City, SD

Additional 2017 APCO award recipients include:

Telecommunicator of the Year
Eric Mulvaine
Barry County Central Dispatch
Hastings, MI

Radio Frequency Technologist of the Year
Tim Beuschlein
Deschutes County 9-1-1 Service District
Bend, OR

Trainer of the Year
Heather Hallman
St. George Communications
St. George, UT

Team of the Year
East Baton Rouge EMS
Baton Rouge, LA

Technology Leadership Award for a Large Communications Center
Minnesota State Patrol Communications
Roseville, MN

Technology Leadership Award for a Small Communications Center
El Paso-Teller County 9-1-1 Authority IT Department
Colorado Springs, CO

These awards honor the highest levels of professional conduct and outstanding performance in the line of duty. For more information about APCO and their technical assistance and advocacy within the public safety communications community, visit

apco mountains

Stay Connected with Watson

Receive more articles like this right to your inbox.